Six Impossible Things

A Blog About Fiction and Reading

Deep Storm

StormDeep Storm by Lincoln Child

—–

I really dig the stories that Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston come up with.  I think the first book of theirs I read was The Relic, but it was Riptide that really won me over.  It probably didn’t hurt that I really dug the legends of Oak Island when I was younger, nor that I read Riptide at the beach.

Their solo efforts are less than interesting, though.  Utopia and Death Match were just as compelling and readable as any of the books they wrote together, but the premises and the conclusions were just a little bit stupid.  The same could be said of Deep Storm, unfortunately.

The story centers around a deep-sea station with a crew trying to dig up the remains of Atlantis.  Only it’s not really Atlantis, it’s some uber-super-ultra secret project with military crews and scientists being forced to rub shoulders together.  And while I kept on reading, trying to figure out what the underlying mystery was, I was insulted with how stupid it was.  I mean, this was a “Bobby never died and the last season was all just a dream” sort of stupid.

I probably won’t stop anyone from reading this one, if you’re like me, and are a fan of the writing team.  Trust me, though; if you can avoid reading this one, you’ll be better off for it.  Go back and re-read The Relic, or whichever other one is your favorite.  This one is a poor substitute for their other works.

February 24, 2007 - Posted by | Adult Fiction, Reviews

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

