Six Impossible Things

A Blog About Fiction and Reading

Strangers in Paradise

StrangersStrangers in Paradise by Terry Moore

—–

I discovered Strangers in Paradise many years ago, but let it fall by the wayside as the series grew larger and larger, and I didn’t have the patience to try to track all of the TPBs down.  Luckily, I discovered that the library has most of the series in the new Pocket Book format, so I had the chance to catch up with Katchoo, Francine, and David.

I enjoyed this series then, and I enjoy it still today.  What starts out as a simple romantic storyline quickly grows into something larger and more complicated, where coincidences abound.  Oddly, the coincidences never seem forced or contrived, so the story always seems to fall in line naturally.  The on again, off again relationship between Katchoo and Francine becomes a little tiresome if you read the entire series back-to-back (I read four of the Pocket Books all together), as does the recurrence of the Parker Girls and their interference in everyone’s lives.

The strongest aspect of this series, though, lies with the characters.  It’s so easy to like the main characters, and love and hate them as they change throughout the story.  I found myself wanting for Katchoo and Francine to wind up together, even as the author teased me with glimpses into possible futures where they did and didn’t settle down together.  Moore manages to avoid cliches (unless used for satire and comedy), which is quite an achievement, given that most of the main characters could easily fall into a stereotype with just a nudge.

I know the series is still going on, and I also know that there’s a fifth Pocket Book out there, waiting for me.  The end of the fourth book seems very final, and bittersweet, so I’m eager to see how the author takes the story from there.  If it continues in the same direction as the previous volumes, I shouldn’t be disappointed.

October 10, 2006 - Posted by | Graphic Novels, Reviews

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

